Wednesday, August 20, 2014

REVIEW: Relic by Heather Terrell

Relic (Books of Eva, #1)The truth will test you...

For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.

When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.

Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.

But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.

This was not a bad book, by any means, I just had a few problems with it. The main problem was that I just couldn't take it seriously.
This book takes place in the future and what this society believes about us is really laughable. They believe that we worship the Apple god and that our MasterCards and other such things are works of evil. They basically thought that we would pray to blank screens to worship this Apple god.

To be honest, I can see this happening. I always question what future society would think of us and this book shows an idea like that where they come up with their own notions based on relics that they find. So, yeah, I can see it happening, but I just had such a hard time taking this book seriously because I know how untrue this all is.

If that was my only issue with this book, it would have a much higher rating. Because, like I said, it only bothered me because I couldn't take this book as seriously as I should have. But I also had some issues with The Testing.

I thought that The Testing was ridiculous (I also found it ridiculous that it was necessary for everything to be capitalized). The Testing was supposed to be dangerous, but it wasn't even close. Eva never faced any danger and she easily passed all the tasks even though she hardly had any preparation. It's even more ridiculous that she was in the lead in many challenged and other such circumstances (when, again, she hardly had any preparation!). There also was hardly any action throughout the book, which was a bit of a let down.

I am disappointed in this book. Much of this book was ridiculous and unbelievable. I actually found the whole Apple god interesting, but it was very hard to take seriously.
As far as reading the sequel, I don't know. I get the feeling that I'll be able to take it more seriously, but I doubt that I'll like it very much. Maybe I'll read it if I get my hands on it.

I hereby give this book
2 Wheels
Meaning: It was okay

No comments :

Post a Comment