Wednesday, March 27, 2019

SERIES REVIEW: Confessions of Georgia Nicolson Series by Louise Rennison

There are six things very wrong with my life:
1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.
2. It is on my nose
3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.
4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.
5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.
6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive.

In this wildly funny journal of a year in the life of Georgia Nicolson, British author Louise Rennison has perfectly captured the soaring joys and bottomless angst of being a teenager. In the spirit of Bridget Jones's Diary, this fresh, irreverent, and simply hilarious book will leave you laughing out loud. As Georgia would say, it's "Fabbity fab fab!"

NOTE: This is a review for the series as a whole.

When I first picked up this series it was honestly on a whim. The books were $0.33 per book so I picked up a bunch. I wasn't sure if they were really the books for me. Even after reading the first book I wasn't sure if the series was for me, but I decided to keep going and I am glad for that.

I've had trouble before with books that try to show the teenage girl experience or a teenage girl diary and instead they felt like whiney eleven-year-olds. This series was not the case. This is such a fun series. I love Georgia's humor and how she goes about life. It took me a bit to warm up to her way of talking/writing, but I grew to love it. She has such an interesting personality and I found myself using some of her language in my thoughts after binge-reading this series. She makes a lot of mistakes in this series, some pretty embarrassing, but in all of her outrageousness, she felt like a real teenage girl. 

This series also had such an interesting cast of characters. There's Georgia's friends, the boys, her outrageous family, and her neighbors. I just loved seeing how all of the characters interacted with one another and how comfortable Georgia was with her friends. I also always looked forward to hearing about Libby's or Angus' shenanigans.

Of course, Georgia did annoy me at times, namely in the romance department. There a few different guys Georgia is interested in during the course of the series. Early on in the series, I figured out who I wanted Georgia to end up with and Georgia's denial of her interest in him frustrated me. This did make me binge-read the series, though. The ending of this series did make me desire more because it ended just as it got to where I wanted it to be, but... it was still a great end to the series.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this series. It was so much fun and it made me laugh on more than one occasion. When I picked up the first book I wasn't sure what to expect and I honestly just wanted to read a book where characters didn't die and everyone's lives were terrible. This book series succeeded in giving me feel-good reads and I can see myself picking up this series again when I need a feel-good book to read.

I hereby give this series
4 Stars!
Meaning: It was so much fun!

1 comment :

  1. I've read the first two books in the series and I need to continue them. Great review!

    Lauren @ Always Me