Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: The Reader by Traci Chee

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, where you talk about whatever book you are IMPATIENTLY WAITING for!

This week I am waiting for...

The Reader (Sea of Ink and Gold, #1)A stunning debut set in a world where reading is forbidden, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

Release Date: September 13th 2016   Goodreads / Amazon 

Why am I waiting?
A book about books, in a fantasy world where books are forbidden. How could I possibly pass this one up!
 What book are you waiting for this week?


  1. A book about an illiterate society?! That's a topic you don't see often. Will definitely have to add this to my to-read list! Check out my WoW here:

  2. Great pick! I just love that cover, which is what made me notice it a few weeks ago.

  3. Such an alluring cover with that blue and artsy stuff. Love the blurb too. I really need to read more fantasy this year because it is my favorite genre after all. Thanks for sharing :)

    Happy Wednesday!

    Shane @ Itching for Books

  4. Oooh this one sounds really interest! I'll definitely have to keep my eyes out for this one! September is so far away. Great pick, thanks for sharing!

    Here's my WOW!