Saturday, April 4, 2015

REVIEW: Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Unleashed (Uninvited, #2)
Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she'll be ruled by the kill gene or if she'll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn't even know if she can trust herself.


I read the last book a year ago, but I remember really enjoying it. Sadly, I didn't like this book as much and, really, it didn't feel like it was even the same series.

Davy and her friends have escaped their horrible imprisonment and are making their way to a safe camp down in Mexico. Things go awry along the way, though, and Davy ends up getting separated from her friends. Dying, Davy is saved by a man and taken to a hidden rebel camp. There, she will have to decide whether to stay there and fight or go back to her friends.

This book was a big disappointment. It wasn't too bad for awhile, but looking back at the book, I really have less than stellar thoughts on it. First of all, nothing really happens. The Goodreads synopsis describes this book as action-packed. It is that way in the very beginning and there is some deadly things going on in the rebel camp (which ended up being stupid. More on that later), but other than that? Nope. Most of it was Davy ever changing her made. Did she want to stay? Go? I don't know! I swear she changed her mind every chapter! Also, the romance took up a lot of the book. She kept fighting off her feelings for Caden.

That's right. Caden. Not Sean. Caden.
Caden is a guy that Davy meets at the rebel camp and she is attracted to him, despite the fact that she was still technically with Sean. Sean, by the way, is hardly in this book. He's in the first few chapters, but that's really it. It wasn't really the fact that she liked the other guy that bothered me, because it's been so long since I've read Uninvited so I don't really have strong feelings for Sean. What bothered me is the fact that another love interest in introduced in the sequel! This is a huge pet peeve of mine! I also felt like they became close way too quickly.

I didn't really have huge problems with this book until closer to the end. All the action-y things ended into a 'twist' that only made the book ridiculous. I will hide due to spoilers. <highlight to view spoilers>Okay. So, there was a spy in the rebel camp who unleashed secrets and caused the death of many rebels. Turns out, that it was all done by some chick who only did those things to get rid of the girls Caden liked, so she could be with him. What. The. Hell. Nonononononononono! This makes zero sense at all and I was done by this point! Honestly, this 'twist' ruined the book for me completely and opened my eyes to all the other ridiculous events in this book.<end of spoiler>

This book was a big disappoint. I really was too nice with my rating, but I gave the 'higher' rating because of the previous book. But really, this book didn't even feel like the sequel to Uninvited. It had different characters, setting, and even Davy acted differently. The carrier gene only seemed like background noise as well. Anyway, if you are a fan of the first book, you may want to skip this one. Especially if you liked Sean.

I hereby give this book
2.5 Wheels
Meaning: I almost liked it, but not quite

No comments :

Post a Comment